Hyde, Jekyll, Me (하이드 지킬, 나) Review

Hyde, Jekyll, Me

Finally it’s over!

I started watching this drama when it started airing and I just managed to finish it now…. It took me a looong time…

The drama is about Gu Seo Jin (Hyun Bin), a chaebol who has a split personality. Gu Seo Jin is a cold business man with no thought for others, but his other personality Robin, is the polar opposite of him. Gu Seo Jin has been able to subdue Robin for five years. Jang Ha Na (Han Ji Min) is a circus ring master who returns and wakes Robin again. When Gu Seo Jin’s both personalities fall in love with her, the drama begins.

Let’s see why it took me so long to finish this drama.

Gu Seo Jin

The main lead Gu Seo Jin / Robin were just weird. I actually loved Gu Seo Jin in the first episode. I laughed my butt off when he abandoned everyone else and escaped onto the trolley when the (completely fake) gorilla got loose.

Then when Jang Ha Na appeared it was just down hill from there. With her Robin appeared and at first I didn’t dislike him either…

Don’t you think Robin looks kind of creepy when he smiles?

Sigh…

Then the leading lady Jang Ha Na…

I’m really trying to figure out something positive to say here…

I can’t come up with anything so let’s move on…

The cutie pie Sung Joon played the bad guy Yoon Tae Joo. He had a grudge towards Gu Seo Jin from childhood… Not original, still I liked him as the bad guy. He was somewhat original in his methods. He used hypnotism and was all in all a good bad guy.

Still the writer managed to screw him up by hinting romance between him and Jang Ha Na… More about the writing later…

Another “bad guy” the drama had was Han Sang Jin as Ryu Seung Yeon. I liked his character too, even though he wasn’t anything new either. He wanted Wonderland so badly that his attempts to get it were getting to be ridiculous. He was cute in his hopeless attempts.

I think the reason why this drama failed so completely was because of its writing. None of the actors have been so bad in anything else I have seen them in and this drama had the potential to be really good, they just messed it up by going to the wrong way with it. For example, they played with too many things in one drama. We had a split personality, chaebols arguing over a company, childhood grudge and then they add a love triangle that is messed up. I think they tried to make Robin and Jang Ha Na into the ultimate star crossed lovers but they just ended up being mushy, pathetic and weird characters.

With this I’ll finish and push this drama away from my mind where it will remain.

One thought on “Hyde, Jekyll, Me (하이드 지킬, 나) Review

Leave a Reply

