Currently Watching; Descendants of the Sun (태양의 후예)

Descendants of the Sun tells the story of Captain Yoo Shi Jin, a skilled soldier and Kang Mo Yeon, a doctor. They first meet in Korea but are reunited in the war-torn country called Uruk. They fall in love, but can their love beat all the dangers ahead?

Ok, forgive me for the predictable synopsis but it’s impossible to sum this drama to one paragraph. I’ll just go to the characters without any more small talk.

Song Joong Ki as Yoo Shi Jin

Yoo Shi Jin is a skilled soldier, a leader of his team, but I don’t think he has a filter between his brain and mouth. Sometimes he seems to do things without thinking about the consequences at all then the next moment he says that he thought about all the possibilities and he made the right choice. You make me confused, Shi Jin!

More than anything else, Yoo Shi Jin is a soldier. Although I question his desire to protect “women, the elderly and beauties” he does have a soldiers mentality. He is more than willing to sacrifice anything for his country and is a man of action.

His character is well written, but because of Song Joong Ki’s baby face I sometimes struggle seeing him as a soldier.

I hope that they will let us into his story more deeply so that he won’t just be a soldier who has a smart mouth.

Song Hye Kyo as Dr. Kang Mo Yeon

I don’t know what to say. Sometimes I like Kang Mo Yeon and sometimes she doesn’t. I understand her reasoning behind not going to Yoo Shi Jin yet but I hope that she can change her line from “I’m confused” to something else. She clearly knows how she feels, she just says she is confused when in reality I don’t think she is.

Ok, as a couple the Song-Song actors are top-notch. I love Song Joong Ki’s eyes when he looks at the good doctor. There is no denying that he likes her. His eyes are filled with humour and he does have a peculiar sense of humour sometimes, it makes me smile sometimes. Just limit your pick up lines a little bit.

He’s always looking at her so longingly.

Now that we have the main couple out-of-the-way let’s move on to the things that I really like about this drama.

Jin Goo as Seo Dae Yeong & Kim Ji Won as Yoon Myung Ju

gdd

This couple has stolen my heart; Seo Dae Yeong and Yoon Myung Ju. At first I didn’t realize your charm but now I prefer you over the main couple!

These two are military to the bone. Seo is better at receiving and obeying orders than anyone else, and Myung Ju’s love towards him is unwavering. The little glimpses we see into the relationship they had before are pure gold; they’re sweet and show a completely different side of the couple that we see in the present day shots.

I hope that we will get to see more of this couple and their story!

Yoo Shi Jin (Song Joong Ki) & Seo Dae Yeong (Jin Goo)

A drama is not a great drama without some bromance. And these two have it. Together (and separately too) they are bad ass. They kick some but, eat ice cream together with dolls, call each other almost daily, tease but support each other through everything.

I love the scenes these two have together. They are amazing. More of this couple, please!

You can’t tell me that you weren’t laughing when they accidentally wore the same shirt. So cute!

The fun times these two have. To be honest I wouldn’t mind having Seo as my teacher -even when his nickname is a Teacher from Hell. He kills me with that cap, uniform and sunglasses combo!

Who doesn’t love men in uniform??

Besides these couples the drama also has fun and different side characters to offer.

Cho Jasper plays Daniel, a doctor and mechanic, who has an adorable accent. Sigh.

I haven’t seen Onew (from Shinee) act before this drama but I give him a big thumbs up. His character, Lee Chi Hoon, is playful and sweet. In the recent episode we saw more of his acting when the catastrophe finally hit, I’ll just say this; He killed it.

I was almost crying with you Onew!

I love Lee Kwang Soo and was really looking forward to his cameo in this drama. Then the reality hit me hard. It was too short!!!! Tearsssss…. I would’ve loved to see him as a soldier even for a short while!

As my final notes for this CW I hope, beg, pray, that the writers and the whole other crew too made the rest of the drama as awesome as episode 6 was. In the beginning I had a hard time seeing why this drama was supposedly so amazing. I thought of it as just some makjang drama without any sensible plot,  but it is finally looking up! Please, please, stay this way!

What are your thoughts on Descendants of the Sun?

Did you find the beginning not worth all the hype?

Who’s your favorite couple?

Leave a Reply

