Chicago Typewriter (시카고 타자기) Review: New life, Another Chance

This is a review and contains spoilers. Find my Currently Watching article here.

mLnnQqGL_63f69c_f

Han Se Joo (Yoo Ah In) is a successful writer. Jeon Seol (Im Su Jeong) is a job changer who lives her life one day at a time. She is a huge fan of Han Se Joo. Han Se Joo has recurring dreams of himself and Jeon Seol in the 1930s Korea fighting against the Japanese oppressors. When Han Se Joo experiences a slump Yoo Jin Oh (Go Gyeong Pyo) becomes his ghost writer. But how can he write the exact same scenes as Han Se Joo’s dreams?

Reincarnation and fated love through lives seems to be a recurring trend now. Chicago Typewriter also absorbed a lot of its energy from the regret of its characters. Their hopes, wishes and dreams that they couldn’t fulfill in their first lives fueled them forward even in the next.

“Let’s meet again even if we die. If the skies ask me if I had lived a happy life, this is what I’ll say.  I’ll say I was happy to have met all of you. If the skies console me for having gone through so much and pat me on the shoulders and tell me that I lived a good life, I’ll ask them for a favor. I’ll ask them to allow me to be with you guys even in my next life.”

It was nice to see a drama focus on friendship and loyalty instead of romance. The main trio’s friendship (or you may call it love too) was amazing to watch. Especially the flashbacks made me think what this drama would have been like if it was set completely in the 1920s. The independence fighters and their fight for something they believed in so strongly was more interesting and exciting to me than their lives in the present day.

Especially Yoo Jin Oh’s endless dedication to his friends was stirring. At times he was like a puppy completely dedicated to Jeon Seol. He could do and did everything in his power to keep her safe but his conscience didn’t leave him alone. Although it was no surprise that Jeon Seol was the one who killed him, I still felt for him. There just was no happy ending for the three but I feel that’s the way this story was meant to be.

Leave a Reply

